The Committee

The CILIP-BL Committee on RDA is a joint committee of the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP) and the British Library (BL), reflecting the involvement of these bodies as two of the joint authors of RDA and its predecessor AACR2.

The Committee is the body within the United Kingdom responsible for:

  • Developing proposals for revisions to RDA, including the submission of new rules and changes to existing ones.
  • Reviewing proposals put forward by the other constituencies for additions to and revisions of RDA.
  • Briefing the UK representative to the RDA Steering Committee (RSC).

Membership of the Committee is flexible, but aims for roughly equal representation from the two partner bodies. At least two members are nominated by CILIP's Cataloguing and Indexing Group (CIG). The UK representative to the RSC ia a member ex officio. From time to time, the Committee may seek advice and assistance with its work from other UK bodies or individuals.

There is no fixed term governing membership of the Committee. The Chair is appointed by the Committee from among its members. The Secretariat is provided by the British Library.

The Committee conducts much of its business by e-mail; meetings are held two or three times a year, according to the demands and schedule of RSC work. Meetings are usually held at the British Library (St. Pancras) in London (Google map), and are open to members of the two constituent bodies; such attendance is in a non-voting capacity.

Dissemintation of information is carried out through this website, and through the lis-ukbibs mailing list.

The Committee has a formal constitution (PDF file).

Committee member Organisation
Jeannine Carroll
Stock Team Leader
t: 01234 228325 (ext. 42325)
e: Jeannine.Carroll@bedford.gov.uk
The Libraries Hub
Bedford Borough Council
Riverside Building
Caudwell Street
Bedford
MK42 9AP
Alan Danskin (UK rep. to RSC)
Metadata Standards Manager
t: 01937 546669
f: 01937 546979
e: alan.danskin@bl.uk
Collection Metadata – Metadata Standards
Collection Acquisition and Description
British Library
Boston Spa
Wetherby
West Yorkshire
LS23 7BQ
Gordon Dunsire
Independent Consultant
t: 0131 346 1026
e: gordon@gordondunsire.com
11 Cobden Terrace
Edinburgh
EH11 2BJ
Lesley Firth (Secretary)
MIS Process Manager
t: 01937 546946
e: CILIP-BL_Secretary@bl.uk
Metadata Creation Programmes
British Library
Boston Spa
Wetherby
West Yorkshire
LS23 7BQ
Galen Jones
Metadata Specialist
t: 01908 332735
e: galen.jones@open.ac.uk
Library Services
The Open University
Walton Hall
Milton Keynes
MK7 6AA
Caroline Kent
Metadata Creation Programmes Manager
t: 01937 546709
e: caroline.kent@bl.uk
Collection Acquisition and Description
British Library
Boston Spa
Wetherby
West Yorkshire
LS23 7BQ
Tatyana Malinova
Assistant Librarian
t: 028 90976238
e: t.malinova@qub.ac.uk
Bibliographic Services
McClay Library
Queen’s University Belfast
10 College Park
Belfast
BT7 1LP
Neil Nicholson (Chair)
Metadata Manager
t: 0131 623 3953
e: n.nicholson@nls.uk
National Library of Scotland
47 Robb's Loan
Edinburgh
EH14 1SQ
Bernadette O’Reilly
Catalogue Support Librarian
t: 01865 277134
e: bernadette.oreilly@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
Bodleian Libraries
Osney One Building
Osney Mead, Oxford
Lynne Tobin
Metadata Projects Manager
t: 0131 623 3955
e: l.tobin@nls.uk
National Library of Scotland
47 Robb's Loan
Edinburgh
EH14 1SQ
Thurstan Young
Metadata Standards Analyst
t: 01937 546527
f: 01937 546979
e: thurstan.young@bl.uk
Collection Metadata - Metadata Standards
Collection Acquisition and Description
British Library
Boston Spa
Wetherby
West Yorkshire
LS23 7BQ
Jenny Wright
Cataloguer/Trainer
t: 01387 702556
e: jenny.wright@bibdsl.co.uk
BDS Ltd
Annandale House
The Crichton
Bankend Road
Dumfries
DG1 4TA